City Alumni Network

Launch of aviation Masters in the Caribbean and Americas

Mathematics, Computer Science & Engineering News.

City University London is partnering with the Trinidad and Tobago Civil Aviation Authority (TTCAA) to offer its renowned portfolio of postgraduate aviation courses to professionals in the Caribbean and Americas.

Under the new agreement, City’s three Masters in Air Safety Management, Air Transport Management and Aircraft Maintenance Management will be taught at the TTCAA’s new training facility at Piarco Airport, Trinidad, having been fully endorsed by the Accreditation Council of Trinidad and Tobago (ACTT).

The courses have been successfully delivered in Bahrain, Dubai, Frankfurt and London for many years and are offered in a part-time, modular format to fit around the busy schedules of aviation personnel.

They are designed for experienced professionals from an array of backgrounds – airline, airport, air traffic control, armed forces and engineering – and provide the mixture of commercial, operational and technical skills that the aviation industry demands today.

Dr Steve Bond, a Senior Lecturer at City, says: “We’ve always had interest in our courses from both organisations and individuals in the Caribbean and Americas, with many students and alumni travelling to Europe and the Middle East to complete them. Working with the TTCAA, we’ll now be able to provide this education in a much more convenient location and open up our courses to a wider range of aviation professionals in the region.”

Ramesh Lutchmedial, Director General of the TTCAA, adds: “City University London has a unique reputation in the aviation industry for the quality and relevancy of its Masters courses. As such, we’re delighted to be bringing them to Trinidad and are already seeing a strong demand from both businesses and personnel locally.”

The first module of the courses will be delivered in June 2012, with approximately six to eight taught in Trinidad each year, enabling students to complete their Masters in around three years.

Further information on the courses is available here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Find us

City, University of London

Northampton Square

London EC1V 0HB

United Kingdom

Back to top

City, University of London is an independent member institution of the University of London. Established by Royal Charter in 1836, the University of London consists of 18 independent member institutions with outstanding global reputations and several prestigious central academic bodies and activities.

Skip to toolbar