Alumni recognised in New Year Honours list 2021

Each year, the New Year Honours list recognises the achievements and services of extraordinary people across the UK, from all walks of life. City is delighted to announce and congratulate our fourteen alumni who have been recognised for their commitment to various services, including healthcare, inclusiveness, public services, music and dance.

Here are our City, University of London alumni on the New Year Honours list:

Dames Commander of the Order of the British Empire
Dame Jane Glover CBE (Hon DA Honorary Doctor of Music 1994)
For services to Music

Knights Bachelor
Sir Robert Chote (PG Dip Newspaper Journalism 1990)
Former Chairman , Office for Budget Responsibility
For services to Fiscal Policy and to the Economy

Companions of the Order of the Bath (CB)
Ms Malini Nebhrajani CB (PG Dip Law 1993)
Director of Litigation Government Legal Department
For services to Government Legal profession, especially during the COVID crisis.

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)
Mr Tanjit Dosanjh OBE (BSc Optometry 2007)
Founder of The Prison Opticians Trust
For services to Optometry in Prisons and Reducing Re-Offending

Miss Melanie C Hopkins OBE (MA International Communications 2002)
Former British High Commissioner to Fiji Foreign & Commonwealth Office
OBE – For services to British foreign policy

Mrs Fozia Irfan OBE (MSc Grant making, Philanthropy and Social Investment 2018)
Director of Children and Young People, BBC Children in Need
For services to the community in Bedfordshire, particularly during the Covid-19 Response

Mr Ian Lush OBE (MA Arts Administration 1986)
Chief Executive Officer, Imperial Health Charity
For charitable services to the NHS

Mrs Catherine J Morgan OBE (MSc Nursing 2001)
Chief Nurse East England, NHS England and NHS Improvement
For services to Nursing

Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)
Ms Janet C Arthur MBE (PG Dip Arts Administration 1982)
Council Member, University of Leicester
For services to the community in Smeeton Westerby, Leicestershire

Mrs Jill Demilew MBE (BSc Social Sciences with Nursing Studies 1977)
Consultant Midwife Kings College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
For services to Midwifery

Ms Joanne E Hobbs MBE (PG Dip Voluntary Sector Management 2012)
Chief Executive Officer, British Youth Council
For professional and voluntary services to Young People

Mr Andrew J Hurst MBE (MA Cultural Policy and Management 2012)
Chief Executive Officer, One Dance UK
For services to Dance, particularly during the Covid-19 Response

Ms Sylvie E Provan MBE (PG Dip Professional Legal Skills 2008)
Team Leader, Foreign and Commonwealth Office
For services to British foreign policy

Ms Deborah Scully MBE (PG Dip Arts Management in Education 1997)
Deputy Principal, Royal Central School Of Speech & Drama
For services to Drama Training and to Higher Education

Mr Manoj Vasani MBE (Executive MBA 2017)
CEO and Founder SOS Supplies
For services to Protective Care during the Covid-19 Response


© mattjeacock, Getty Images via