Staff and students recognised for green achievements


City held its fifth annual Environmental Champions and Green Impact Awards ceremony on 13th June 2014.

The occasion recognised and celebrated staff and students on the Environmental Champions Network. City’s Environmental Champions Network is comprised of 100 staff and over 200 students who volunteer to help make City a greener university.

Professor Paul Curran, Vice-Chancellor, and Professor Richard Verrall, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Strategy & Planning), were on hand to help distribute the awards.

At the ceremony, Simon Bralee and Robert Lastman were given the highly commended and the Environmental Champion of the Year awards, respectively, for their outstanding contribution to City’s sustainability initiatives.

The ceremony was also an opportunity to award departments taking part in Green Impact. Green Impact is an environmental accreditation and awards scheme run by the National Union of Students, which brings together staff and students to enable and showcase positive changes in environmental practice.

Participating teams were awarded one of five award levels for their achievements: Working towards accreditation, Bronze, Silver, Gold or Platinum.

High performing teams from previous years were eligible to take part in the Gold Excellence scheme which allowed them to run their own projects. Three teams (Student Centre, Students’ Union and Property & Facilities) took part in this scheme.

This year saw 26 teams from across the University take part in Green Impact. 20 student Project assistants worked alongside some of the teams and a further 28 students received IEMA (Institute of Environmental Management & Assessment) approved training as Green Impact auditors.

Of the 26 teams, three were student teams, taking part in our newly created Student Zone competition. We also welcomed five new teams including the Vice-Chancellor’s office and our first ever international team.

Nine special awards were also given out. These included the Environmental Hero award which went to Daisie Yorke and the Student Leadership award which went to Ted Okoroji.

Congratulations to all our winners this year!

A complete list of Green Impact 2013-14 award winners can be found here.


3 Responses

  1. Abamenko Petro

    October 22, 2023 8:25 pm

    The durability of a couch can be significantly extended with the right protective cover. The 4-seater elastic slipcovers found Menotti site not only offer a modern aesthetic but also provide a shield against spills, stains, and daily wear and tear. The quality of material used ensures that the covers retain their shape and color, making this a smart choice for maintaining a neat living area.

  2. valaika valaika

    December 2, 2023 8:28 pm

    Dive into a world where choices are not just abundant but staggering in their diversity. unveils an extensive collection of themed prints, boasting over 10,000 options that cater to every conceivable taste and preference. Yet, it’s not just about variety; it’s about efficiency. With a remarkable production capacity of up to 400 items per day, your order, no matter the size, is processed with meticulous care and unrivaled efficiency.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *